“Halloween Midnight” – A Poem on Halloween

Hello all! Here’s yet another creation by me – A simple poem, “Halloween Midnight”, on the goose-bumping occasion of Halloween… The poem themes a mysterious event that took place on the midnight of Halloween…

Read and enjoy the illustration attached (I got the illustration while surfing the internet and found it wonderful). And yes, happy Halloween! 🙂

Halloween Night Illustration

HALLOWEEN MIDNIGHT

The Halloween of a tiny town,
When there’s a magic in the night…
Come both fear and wondrous joy,
When pumpkins glow with candle light…

It was the middle of midnight,
When, surely, light was sleeping too…
A moonless yet a starry night,
With darkness shining in the view…

I wonder how I did wake up,
And thought to see the starry skies…
I paced up towards the balcony,
With sleep still filled in my eyes…

Where I could get a full-view of
The two-lane wide road in front;
I heard some riders passing by,
Their bikes did silently grunt…

The shutters were down at the roadside,
By now, all the shops were closed…
Centrally stood the clock tower,
A deep, weird shadow it posed…

A faraway lamp and tiny stars
Were all the light that I could see,
Yet the lamp was the least bright,
As feeble as it could be…

A small shop opened at the far,
I saw the gleaming bulb from it,
Which looked awkward in the dark,
That golden light did burst from it…

A tall street-lamp was standing straight,
Near the road, in front of me…
And there it stood without any glow –
As lifeless as a leafless tree…

On one end of the street, I saw,
A tall man had just appeared…
In violet cloak and hooded he was,
Yet I could see his silver-beard…

With stars embroidered on his cloak,
Both he and his beard were long…
I saw him walking gracefully –
Saw him pacing the road along…

The sight of him was marvelous,
As soothing as a phoenix song…
To see him walking gracefully –
See him pacing the road along…

Beneath the sleeves from hidden hand,
Fell a fine beam of white light…
Direct towards the road from him,
Which I took to be torchlight…

Along with him, the light-spot paced,
As if lighting the way for him…
Since as soon as he paced along,
The starlight had begun to dim…

Brilliant was it, watching the beam,
It seemed a magic the dark…
The man holding the mystique beam
And pacing like some great wizard…

And as he came, that faraway lamp,
– Which goldenly till then glowed –
Shimmered for a moment and then,
In darkness it was swallowed…

And there I stood, well dumbstruck,
Wondering was it real at all!
The lamp extinguished by itself,
Or it went off at his call?

In his old hand was not a torch,
A wand, I’m sure, now I could see…
And now the man had reached up to
The dead street-lamp in front of me…

On this lamp, he threw his beam,
(Torchlight which I took to be)
The beam now turned from white to gold,
I was too amazed to see!

And then it happened all at once,
The dead street-lamp shone bright…
I was forced to shut my eyes
To escape the dazzling light…

Then opened them with all my will,
And searched him all around,
I searched him in the skies and grounds
But no such man was found!

2 thoughts on ““Halloween Midnight” – A Poem on Halloween

Leave a Reply →

